RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

merging XCF into multiple GIFs (and automated processing in general)

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

2 of 3 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

merging XCF into multiple GIFs (and automated processing in general) Jack McKinney 27 Aug 21:31
jackmc-gimp@lorentz.com 07 Oct 20:15
  merging XCF into multiple GIFs (and automated processing in general) Jeff Trefftzs 30 Aug 20:34
Jack McKinney
2002-08-27 21:31:01 UTC (over 21 years ago)

OK, maybe I am a bit too much of a programmer, and also using GIMP the wrong way (I am new to graphics generation), but I can't seem to find my answer in the 1.2 2nd edition users guide or the FAQs. I need to create 15 GIF files. The design of these files is such that I can create an XCF with 4 layers, and each of the 15 GIF images represents one of the possible combinations of the 4 layers (there are 16 ways to choose the layers, one of them is "none", which is an unneeded case as it just gives a blank image 8-).
I thus have two questions:

1. How do I make the 15 GIFs? The documentation indicates that I need to merge the layers, and make the image indexed, at which point I can save it as a GIF. However, this changes my source "image" (the XCF file). Will I have to close the image without saving changes and then reopen for all 15 images???

2. Q1 might be more of a programmatic issue. As I said, I am think a bit too much as a programmer, and I am think of the XCF file as a source file, and the GIFs as "compiled" images. That having been said, perhaps the standard model in the graphics world is that you don't spend time saving time and just do the work 15 times.