Sign up now! · Forgot password?
RSS/Atom feed Twitter

Where are window layout and other config data stored

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

2 of 2 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Where are window layout and other config data stored BWK 05 Jul 17:31
  Where are window layout and other config data stored rich404 05 Jul 20:18
2020-07-05 17:31:28 UTC (about 1 month ago)
postings
19
contact
Send private message

Where are window layout and other config data stored

On one of my computers Gimp starts up with the toolbox and layers,undo etc lists both on the left side which is good. On another computer it starts with the toolbox on the left and the layer list on the right and they cannot be forced together like the first computer.

I need to be able to delete the saved config data for this computer but I also want to be able to copy the keyboard shortcuts from one computer to the other which I haven't been able to do.

Under the flatpak system some user data is supposed to be stored in .var/app/or.gimp.GIMP/config/GIMP/2.10 Well indeed there is a lot of data there but apparently the Gimp project must have changed their data paths and now be storing some of the data somewhere else or else some one has had a brain wave and come up with some system of caching some of this data elsewhere. So that it either does not look at the data that is in this path, or ignores it completely.

When I reinstalled my computer recently, it is obviously using the same config data as it had before because the window is still coming up with the same wacky layout that I can't fix. Obviously this config data is stored somewhere in my user profile.

2020-07-05 20:18:39 UTC (about 1 month ago)
postings
568
contact
Send private message

Where are window layout and other config data stored

On one of my computers Gimp starts up with the toolbox and layers,undo etc lists both on the left side which is good. On another computer it starts with the toolbox on the left and the layer list on the right and they cannot be forced together like the first computer.

Beg to differ, you can set Gimp up any way within reason.

I need to be able to delete the saved config data for this computer but I also want to be able to copy the keyboard shortcuts from one computer to the other which I haven't been able to do.

It is all held in you Gimp user profile, for a flatpak it is ~/.var/app/org.gimp.GIMP/config/GIMP/2.10/

Window positions etc are in the file sessionrc. see screenshot.

The keyboard shortcuts, similarly are held in the file menurc, you can copy that between installations.

The settings are there to keep between Gimp updates. If they were elsewhere you would lose them on a Gimp update.

You might be able to use the same User profile, the folder /2.10 , in each installation. It is possible. Just be careful and make a backup.

Under the flatpak system some user data is supposed to be stored in .var/app/or.gimp.GIMP/config/GIMP/2.10 Well indeed there is a lot of data there but apparently the Gimp project must have changed their data paths and now be storing some of the data somewhere else or else some one has had a brain wave and come up with some system of caching some of this data elsewhere. So that it either does not look at the data that is in this path, or ignores it completely.

Nope.

When I reinstalled my computer recently, it is obviously using the same config data as it had before because the window is still coming up with the same wacky layout that I can't fix. Obviously this config data is stored somewhere in my user profile.

If you want a clean installation you need to remove the user profile. It is not deleted when Gimp is uninstalled, Linux or Windows or Flatpak or Snap.

You should look at how you got into the situation. The default window positions if you leave single window mode

ie. Windows menu and untick 'single window mode' are Tools/Tool Options on the left, the main gimp window and the layers/ brushes ..etc docks on the right.

Position of these windows does matter when you go back into single window mode. See: screenshot

Unfortunately, going back to multi-window mode does not always get back to individual windows. Then the best way is a reset

Edit -> Preferences -> Window Management then click on Reset Saved Window Positions to Default values.