RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

How to Delete Layer in Python Script

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

2 of 2 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

How to Delete Layer in Python Script ericbright2002 07 Jun 17:35
  How to Delete Layer in Python Script ericbright2002 08 Jun 15:45
2020-06-07 17:35:43 UTC (almost 4 years ago)
postings

Hello,

I'm new to scripting in Gimp with python, but I've had a lot of success in the past two days. Here's the overview:

I'm using Gimp to mock-up prototypes of card games. (I know I'll be told to use another program, but I like Gimp!) I have tons of text boxes on the cards with some needing rotated 180 degrees, icons, and labels. I have a python script that reads everything it needs from a CSV, populates the text boxes, changes card borders, adjusts icons, and even makes new layer of text and rotates them 180 as needed. It then merges everything down into a new image, saves the image in a directory, deletes the fresh image, and starts the process again for the next card. All fine and good.

However, after rotating the text box, I can't delete the layer. Since I'm making 100 cards with 3 places of rotated text, I figure having 300 new layers adding to the image would cause some bad things to happen.

Specifically, during the process, I create a new text layer, add the necessary text, name it 'rotatedNoun', calculate the center of rotation, and rotate it 180 degrees (using math.pi and radians). After saving the new image, I want to delete the layer 'rotatedNoun' to prevent 300 new layers from stacking up and crashing Gimp.

I have tried the following:

1) pdb.gimp_item_delete(rotatedNoun)