Sign up now! · Forgot password?
RSS/Atom feed Twitter

ANNOUNCE: GIMP 2.8.8 released

This discussion is connected to the mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to

This is a read-only list on so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

1 of 1 message available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

ANNOUNCE: GIMP 2.8.8 released Michael Natterer 03 Nov 18:32
Michael Natterer
2013-11-03 18:32:19 UTC (almost 7 years ago)

ANNOUNCE: GIMP 2.8.8 released


GIMP 2.8.8 has been released. This is a bugfix release in the stable 2.8 series, no new features were added.

For a complete list of changes since 2.8.4 please see the "Changes" section below. Also see the release notes of the 2.8 series at

Happy GIMPing, --Mitch


GIMP 2.8.8 is available from:

and from the mirrors listed at:

The checksum of the tarball is:

ef2547c3514a1096931637bd6250635a gimp-2.8.8.tar.bz2

Overview of Changes from GIMP 2.8.6 to GIMP 2.8.8 =================================================


- Make sure indexed images always have a colormap - Fix language selection via preferences on Windows - Don't crash on setting a large text size


- Keep the same image active when switching between MWM and SWM - Make sure all dockables are properly resizable (particularly shrinkable)
- Add links to jump directly to Save/Export from the Export/Save file extension warning dialogs


- Fix GimpPickButton on OSX


- Properly document plug-in-autocrop-layer's PDB interface - Fix importing of indexed BMPs


- Fix lots of places to use GIO to get proper file sizes and times on windows
- Add an AppData file for GIMP
- Backport lcms2 support from master, because lcms1 is not getting bug fixes any longer
- Lots of bug fixes
- Lots of translation updates

Contributors ============

Alexandre Prokoudine, Clayton Walker, Daniel Sabo, Jehan, Jernej Simončič, Massimo Valentini, Michael Henning, Michael Natterer, Nils Philippsen, Piotr Drąg, Richard Hughes, Simon Budig, Sven Claussner, Téo Mazars

Translators ===========

A S Alam, Alexandre Prokoudine, Aurimas Černius, Balázs Úr, Daniel Mustieles, Dimitris Spingos, Enrico Nicoletto, Inaki Larranaga Murgoitio, Jehan, Marco Ciampa, Martin Srebotnjak, Matej Urbančič, Piotr Drąg, Seong-ho Cho, Sven Claussner, Timo Jyrinki