RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Can't Build the GIMP

This discussion is connected to the gimp-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

1 of 2 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

000a01c278c4$fe34c6f0$65c8a... 07 Oct 20:21
  Can't Build the GIMP Tor Lillqvist 21 Oct 22:30
Tor Lillqvist
2002-10-21 22:30:46 UTC (over 21 years ago)

Can't Build the GIMP

Kevin Myers writes:
> It's my first time trying to build the GIMP on my Win 2K box under > MinGW, and right away I'm running into problems that I don't know > how to solve. Please forgive my newbie questions. I don't have a > lot of knowledge regarding gnu build tools and related stuff...

Before you attempt to build GIMP with GNU configure etc, you should preferrably have experiece in building some less complex package with these tools, both on some common Unix (like Linux or Solaris, as a reference), and on Win32.

> found xgettext program is not GNU xgettext; ignore it > ./configure: ./po/POTFILES.in: No such file or directory > mkdir: cannot create directory `intl': File exists

Yeah, the intl stuff is a pain in the rear. (I never understood where the convention of having the intl subdirectory in every package came from? Why not require having an installed (GNU or other) libintl?)