RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

geglbuffer-add-image writes GeglBuffer to disk only after a gegl_buffer_flush()?

This discussion is connected to the gegl-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

Giuseppe Rota
2009-06-03 21:45:13 UTC (almost 15 years ago)

geglbuffer-add-image writes GeglBuffer to disk only after a gegl_buffer_flush()?

Hi all,
I'm just starting to learn gegl, so please forgive my lack of knowledge. I started to read the autogenerated docs and the code from the "examples" subdir.
I got stuck with the geglbuffer-add-image example, though. I expected to find, after a successful run, a file (first argument) containing the serialization (or dump, if you will) of a GeglBuffer (I used data/surfer.png as input).
That did not happen so I inserted a gegl_buffer_flush(buffer); instruction before the 2 g_object_unref near the end of the main(). That did the trick, I now have a binary file with the serialization of a GeglBuffer (first 4 bytes are "GEGL"). This happens (on Linux) both with version 0.0.22 and with the HEAD svn version (both babl and gegl) (GIO enabled).

Can you please explain the rationale behind this behaviour?

On a unrelated note, what's the difference between gegl_buffer_load and gegl_buffer_open?

Øyvind Kolås
2009-06-04 00:28:31 UTC (almost 15 years ago)

On Wed, Jun 3, 2009 at 8:45 PM, Giuseppe Rota wrote:

I got stuck with the geglbuffer-add-image example, though. I expected to find, after a successful run, a file (first argument) containing the serialization (or dump, if you will) of a GeglBuffer (I used data/surfer.png as input).