RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

[Re: How to High light a gif text image]

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

1 of 1 message available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

[Re: How to High light a gif text image] Doug 02 Mar 14:52
Doug
2006-03-02 14:52:54 UTC (about 18 years ago)

[Re: How to High light a gif text image]

ajmal sherif wrote:

Hi Folks

I recently downloaded GIMP and I am new to it.
Please advise how you would attempt this:
I have a gif image of some text eg This is my Goldfish.
I wish to now highlight it as follows:
This is my Goldfish

Hi Ajmal,

Since nobody else has responded, here are my suggestions - open to correction from more expert people (I'm using GIMP 2.2.4 under Mandrake Linux):

the gif image will be opened in Gimp in b/w or indexed, and you won't be able to colour anything.

So,
(1) open the gif file.
(2) save it as a Gimp file, i.e. right click on the image=> File=> Save as. Click on Save File Type (By Extension). Click on GIMP XCF Image=> Save. The name along the title bar at the top of the image should then be changed from xxx.gif to xxx.xcf.
(3) Right Click on the image=> Image =>Mode => RGB to convert to RGB. The name on the image title bar should be changed to xxx.xcf (RGB, 1 layer)

I think the first step would be to create a rectangle around the word using Select Rectang Regions.

(4) OK

But then how do i select the colour