RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

image indexed mode, major hole

This discussion is connected to the gimp-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

6 of 6 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

image indexed mode, major hole yeziut@o2.pl 05 Jun 20:23
  image indexed mode, major hole Sven Neumann 05 Jun 21:23
   image indexed mode, major hole Henning Makholm 07 Jun 01:05
    image indexed mode, major hole David Gowers 07 Jun 03:18
    image indexed mode, major hole Sven Neumann 07 Jun 09:36
    image indexed mode, major hole peter sikking 07 Jun 11:50
yeziut@o2.pl
2007-06-05 20:23:54 UTC (almost 17 years ago)

Noob here, don't kill.

Hi i'm not a developer, but here's an issue that developers should consider in my honest opinion. Since it's not a bug, but a missing feature, i'm posting this here.

Ok, to the point: Conversion to indexed mode in GIMP kills any alpha transparency in the image, even if the palette used has semi-transparent colors in it. A.O.K if we're thinking GIF's here, but somone seems to have forgotten about PNG image format that well allows and enables the use of palettes with variable transparency color entries.

Well, guess what, GIMP doesn't allow me to go there:/

Having my image in 8bit color depth and with variable transparency is a major factor for a png format lover like me, and you can bet, I'm not the only one who thinks that.

Sven Neumann
2007-06-05 21:23:19 UTC (almost 17 years ago)

Hi,

On Tue, 2007-06-05 at 20:23 +0200, yeziut@o2.pl wrote:

Hi i'm not a developer, but here's an issue that developers should consider in my honest opinion. Since it's not a bug, but a missing feature, i'm posting this here.