RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Knockout layers

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

3 of 3 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Knockout layers Jorge Antunes 08 Jan 10:40
  Knockout layers Scott Bicknell 08 Jan 12:12
   Knockout layers Jorge Antunes 08 Jan 13:40
Jorge Antunes
2007-01-08 10:40:36 UTC (over 17 years ago)

Knockout layers

Hi,
I'm new to Gimp and i'm trying to find a way to duplicate in gimp a procedure that I've used in Photoshop. In photoshop I use extensively the layer grouping because layer's advanced blending knockout options.
I know that layer grouping is not possible in Gimp, but I also can´t find similar options to knockout blending. How can I, using Gimp, set a knockout layer? Best Regards,
Jorge Antunes

Scott Bicknell
2007-01-08 12:12:56 UTC (over 17 years ago)

Knockout layers

On Monday 08 January 2007 1:40 am, Jorge Antunes wrote:

Hi,
I'm new to Gimp and i'm trying to find a way to duplicate in gimp a procedure that I've used in Photoshop. In photoshop I use extensively the layer grouping because layer's advanced blending knockout options. I know that layer grouping is not possible in Gimp, but I also can´t find similar options to knockout blending. How can I, using Gimp, set a knockout layer? Best Regards,
Jorge Antunes

You can achieve the same result using layer masks. Unfortunately, there is not a simple built-in way of copying a layer mask to multiple layers or of applying a layer mask to multiple layers. There is a script-fu plugin that will do that. I don't know where I got it. It doesn't seem to be in the Gimp's plugin repository. So here it is:

; This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify