RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Please enlighten me!

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

6 of 6 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Please enlighten me! Joachim Smith 29 Mar 17:23
  Please enlighten me! Olivier Ripoll 29 Mar 18:32
  Please enlighten me! Sven Neumann 29 Mar 23:03
   Please enlighten me! Olivier Ripoll 31 Mar 11:21
    Please enlighten me! Dave Neary 31 Mar 12:07
Please enlighten me! Joachim Smith 31 Mar 12:00
Joachim Smith
2006-03-29 17:23:45 UTC (about 18 years ago)

Please enlighten me!

Hello Gimp Wizards,

This is my first post to this eminent forum. I'm a technical journalist working on a series of articles on freeware image editing software, for the Swedish monthly photo magazine FOTO.

Gimp seems to be the 'pièce de résistance' of free image manipulation programs and I'm already impressed by its capabilities.

However, being raised on Photoshop but a newbie with Gimp, I'm stumped by some of Gimp's functions. Please bear with me...

1) I can't seem to find any option for a continuous numerical readout of RGB and greyscale values as I move the cursor in the image!

I have discovered that I can use the Color Picker tool to get readouts if I click somewhere. BUT, if I invoke a function like Color Correction, the Color Picker window is disabled and no help at all for checking stuff like clipping channels or colour casts of areas that should be neutral.

From Photoshop I'm used to always having readouts available in the Info

palette. In Gimp, it seems that though I get all kinds of positional data in the lower left image frame corner, there's no color data readout option.