RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

opening Images

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

5 of 5 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

opening Images Page Sands 09 Feb 22:33
  opening Images Vytautas P. 09 Feb 22:55
opening Images Bob Long 09 Feb 22:55
  opening Images Page Sands 09 Feb 23:16
opening Images Bob Long 09 Feb 23:54
Page Sands
2006-02-09 22:33:23 UTC (about 18 years ago)

opening Images

I'm new to the list and I've been using gimp for several months. I like browse image thumbnails from within Windows (I know I) and I think I'm inadvertently causing multiple instances of The Gimp to run in the background as I can easily end up with 15-20 Gimp menus.

Is there a better way to do this?

All the best, Page

Bob Long
2006-02-09 22:55:02 UTC (about 18 years ago)

opening Images

On Friday, February 10, 2006 7:33 AM [GMT+1=CET], Page Sands wrote:

I'm new to the list and I've been using gimp for several months. I like browse image thumbnails from within Windows (I know I) and I think I'm inadvertently causing multiple instances of The Gimp to run in the background as I can easily end up with 15-20 Gimp menus.

Could you please explain further? If you are simply using the Windows file manager, with View|Thumbnails set so that images show as thumbnails, then the GIMP itself should not be activated. Maybe you are referring to something else? Which version of Windows?

If you mean that you actually open an image for editing with GIMP, and *then* you get a new instance of the GIMP each time you open a new image, you need to change the file associations so that you use gimp-win-remote.exe.

Vytautas P.
2006-02-09 22:55:59 UTC (about 18 years ago)

opening Images