RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Transparent background on flattened images?

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

2017-07-01 09:26:43 UTC (almost 7 years ago)
postings

Hi, I've been making use of this forum the past few months as I learn GIMP, but this is my first time posting.

I'm working with GIMP 2.8.16.

My question: Is there a straightforward way to get a transparent background on a flattened image?

The top portion of the book cover I'm generating features two separate images, a girl and a guy, brought together to give the illusion they're with each other in the same setting. I want to set a third image (a blueprint vector) behind them, then reduce the opacity on the first two layers so the blueprint lines show faintly through.

Problem is, when I reduce the opacity on the girl, the guy shows through her (see attached photo "Book cover transparency attempt").

The same thing happens when I use Merge Down.

I've experimented with opening a new view and flattening the girl and guy layers to make one image. Hooray, they're equally solid now and I can adjust their opacity simultaneously with no ghosting. But now I've got a gray, opaque background where I need it to be clear. (See image "Flattened view").

If I must go through all the _fun_ of redoing the layer mask, I'll suck it up and do it. But if there's a simpler, more elegant way to get a clear background on a flattened image, I'll be immensely grateful to find it out.

Or . . . is there another a method for joining two images together so their opacity can be adjusted without one image showing through the other? That would solve the problem, too.

Thanks!

rich2005
2017-07-01 10:51:19 UTC (almost 7 years ago)

...snip...