RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

GIMP fails to load JPEG

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

5 of 5 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

GIMP fails to load JPEG Steve Crane 20 Nov 22:04
  GIMP fails to load JPEG Matthew H. Plough 20 Nov 22:25
  GIMP fails to load JPEG Sven Neumann 21 Nov 01:37
   GIMP fails to load JPEG Steve Crane 22 Nov 05:16
GIMP fails to load JPEG William Skaggs 21 Nov 17:09
Steve Crane
2004-11-20 22:04:27 UTC (over 19 years ago)

GIMP fails to load JPEG

I have been using GIMP for several years and just encountered a problem that I had never seen before. I just bought a Canon Digital Rebel (300D) and GIMP 2.0.0 is unable to open the JPEG files that it produces. The message that it gives is "Plug-In could not open image". JPEGs from my Fuji S7000 and other sources load without a problem.

If this is a known issue that has been corrected I will have to download and build the latest version. If not, is there anyone that can explain this and perhaps offer a solution?

Thanks.

Matthew H. Plough
2004-11-20 22:25:02 UTC (over 19 years ago)

GIMP fails to load JPEG

Steve --

Are you sure that you are trying to load up a JPEG from the Canon Digital Rebel and not a RAW (CRW format)? I just shot a large JPEG on my Canon Digital Rebel and GIMP 2.0.5 loaded it without any problems. I'm on Windows 2000, but there shouldn't be any difference. If you want to open CRW files, you can get one of two plugins, as follows:

1) Download DCRAW and Pawel Jochym's RawPhoto plugin. -or-