RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Unrecognized scanner on Mac

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

2 of 2 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Unrecognized scanner on Mac uberclimber 03 May 02:35
  Unrecognized scanner on Mac Ross Martinek 05 May 12:36
2016-05-03 02:35:57 UTC (almost 8 years ago)
postings

Hi, first-time user and GIMP newbie here. I'm trying to get GIMP to recognise my scanner, a Canon MG6130 inkjet printer-scanner. I'm on a Macbook Pro using OSX10.10, and I'm using GIMP 2.8.14. I've been to the Canon website and downloaded the latest drivers (for both printer and scanner functions). When I click File>Create in GIMP, I don't get the Scanner/Camera option. Not sure what else I should try. Having installed the drivers, is there something else needed? A restart, maybe? Any advice would be appreciated.

Ross Martinek
2016-05-05 12:36:18 UTC (almost 8 years ago)

According to The Book of GIMP by Olivier Lecarme and Karine Delvare, you need a plugin called “XSane” for GIMP to communicate with the scanner. I thoroughly recommend this book to any beginner with GIMP.

I haven’t tried using my Canon scanner directly into GIMP. Usually I just use the scanner software, then open the file in GIMP. But if they recommend that plugin, that’s what I’d use if I were going to do so.

It’s never a bad idea to repair permissions and restart after installing new hardware or software, especially drivers. Sometimes it takes more than once for the system to “find all its paws.” =^}