RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

How do you remove halos?

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

5 of 5 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

How do you remove halos? Nu2Gimp 09 Jul 13:25
  How do you remove halos? Nu2Gimp 09 Jul 13:29
  How do you remove halos? Ofnuts 09 Jul 19:42
   How do you remove halos? Nu2Gimp 10 Jul 02:43
    How do you remove halos? Ofnuts 11 Jul 23:58
2014-07-09 13:25:44 UTC (almost 10 years ago)
postings

How do you remove halos?

Hi Everyone,

I'm very new at using Gimp. I haven't been using it for a week yet. Right now, I'm using the paint brush to outline objects then fill in the colors. I'm doing this all on a transparency.

Sometimes the fill tool doesn't fill in the entire area that is blocked in by the paint strokes. I have to go around the edges with the paint brush and fill in the rest of the color. What could be causing this?

When I'm ready to export them, the images look OK in Gimp. But once I export them, the black paint brush lines have halos around them.

Are there some settings I need to make before I import images into Gimp or export them to my desktop? I'm working with jpg images.

The thing I don't get is that with the first 2 images I worked on, I didn't have the halo issue. I didn't change any settings. What could have happened?

If anyone can help me with:

1. Making it so the entire area I have outlined with the paint brush is filled in with the fill tool

2. Getting rid of the white halo lines around the areas with the brush tool lines

I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

2014-07-09 13:29:24 UTC (almost 10 years ago)
postings

How do you remove halos?

Hi Everyone,