RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Scaling images

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

4 of 4 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Scaling images Lauren McCarthy 12 Jan 22:37
  Scaling images ugajin@talktalk.net 12 Jan 23:00
  Scaling images Michael Schumacher 12 Jan 23:15
  Scaling images Richard 13 Jan 16:29
Lauren McCarthy
2014-01-12 22:37:19 UTC (over 10 years ago)

Scaling images

Is there any way I can scale images down in size, whilst keeping the quality of the image? I am a Media teacher having to use this software with the class and they must have high production values for their controlled assessment. However, I do not know how to get around the problem that all the work is predominantly blurred because students have scaled down the pictures resulting in horrendous blurring.

Any advice would be greatly received.

Thanks

Sent from Windows Mail

ugajin@talktalk.net
2014-01-12 23:00:59 UTC (over 10 years ago)

Scaling images

A media teacher ought perhaps to know the answer.

The short answer may be to increase the resolution (number of pixels per unit). This will down scale the image without removing any data.

http://docs.gimp.org/en/gimp-image-scale.html

-----Original Message----- From: Lauren McCarthy
To: gimp-user-list@gnome.org
Sent: Sun, 12 Jan 2014 22:49
Subject: [Gimp-user] Scaling images