RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Testimony

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

1 of 1 message available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Testimony Jerome 16 Jul 09:33
Jerome
2011-07-16 09:33:12 UTC (almost 13 years ago)

Testimony

A lot of mails to this list are complaints. I'd like to compliment the developers on, what has grown to become, my favourite graphics editor. I'm not going to spam the list with URLs, but know that I am a professional illustrator and have been for many years. I have some large clients to boot.

Up until December 2010, I was a Windows user and, by default, a Photoshop user. I noticed that Ubuntu was hitting the mainstream and that it looked like a great (free) alternative to Windows. I managed to learn how to install it as a dual-boot option, and played with it (and Gimp) for a few weeks. I was about to buy a Mac when I fell in love with Ubuntu and its very helpful. I went cold turkey and bought a new PC, installed Ubuntu (and no Windows) and forced myself to learn the ropes as much as possible. Note that, as a creative, this doesn't come easily. (My forte is drawing stuff; not technical stuff.) I then forced myself to learn Gimp. It was a nightmare trying to get the right shortcuts and understand the layers and the different way Gimp works.