RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

precise pixel manipulation

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

3 of 3 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

precise pixel manipulation John McCain 09 Jan 06:56
  precise pixel manipulation Sven Neumann 09 Jan 11:23
  precise pixel manipulation Carl Brown 09 Jan 18:26
John McCain
2004-01-09 06:56:47 UTC (over 20 years ago)

I am a graphics newbie, so bear with me.

When I try to copy an image fragment including a jagged diagonal line into another image, Gimp seems to tend to wash the edges a little, creating a gradient between the colors of the two bordering sections about 3-4 pixels wide. I don't want this. Furthermore, when I try to use the "1 pixel paint brush" tool, I get a blob that never colors any one pixel the color I want, and tends to smear color around all the adjacent pixels, making it impossible to do fine corrections.

Is there some kind of global aliasing issue going on that I need to configure?

Sven Neumann
2004-01-09 11:23:32 UTC (over 20 years ago)

Hi,

"John McCain" writes:

When I try to copy an image fragment including a jagged diagonal line into another image, Gimp seems to tend to wash the edges a little, creating a gradient between the colors of the two bordering sections about 3-4 pixels wide. I don't want this.

Could you explain how you copy the image fragment? I guess you are using anti-aliasing with the selection tool but since you didn't provide any details, I can only guess.

Furthermore, when I try to use the "1 pixel paint brush" tool, I get a blob that never colors any one pixel the color I want, and tends to smear color around all the adjacent pixels, making it impossible to do fine corrections.