RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Using Gimp 2.8

This discussion is connected to the gimp-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

6 of 7 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

1739124345.2467496.15131231... 13 Dec 00:34
  Using Gimp 2.8 Deb Kennedy via gimp-developer-list 12 Dec 23:59
   Using Gimp 2.8 C R 13 Dec 08:18
   Using Gimp 2.8 Ofnuts 13 Dec 12:23
    Using Gimp 2.8 Ken Moffat via gimp-developer-list 13 Dec 17:38
     Using Gimp 2.8 Ofnuts 13 Dec 19:20
      Using Gimp 2.8 Ken Moffat via gimp-developer-list 13 Dec 21:46
Deb Kennedy via gimp-developer-list
2017-12-12 23:59:10 UTC (over 6 years ago)

Using Gimp 2.8

I am new to programand I am puzzled by the conversion I had to do in order to open the files I hadbuploaded.   I shot photos on the RAW setting on my camera. N70 Nikon. I wanted ti ability to make corrections so that is why I opted for that setting. I noticed they uploaded as NEF files but they were not readily available for viewing so  I then converted to JPEG using GIMP 2.8.  Now my inquiry is this. Why are the files all grainy /noisy? They appear as basically thumb print and when i tried changing the resolution in the GIMP 2.8 the photos still had very noticeable noise. Very pixelated. Annoyed i kept persistent to my task. To no avail. I need to upload said photos to a website Shutterfly for a book I  am putting together for a dear friend. Is there anything I can do with GIMP 2.8 that would allow for better results? Shutterfly gives me an error code that the NEF files are not acceptable and I have tried diligently to fix my dilemma. Can you kindly advise me? Perhaps there is away to go around this and end up with actual good quality resolution so that the book can be made? Unfortunately re-shooting is not an option. I