Sign up now! · Forgot password?
RSS/Atom feed identi.ca Twitter

Selection mode - change of behavior between 2.6 and 2.8

This discussion is connected to the gimp-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

5 of 5 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Selection mode - change of behavior between 2.6 and 2.8 Joao S. O. Bueno 14 Jul 01:34
  Selection mode - change of behavior between 2.6 and 2.8 Chris Moller 14 Jul 02:12
  Selection mode - change of behavior between 2.6 and 2.8 Joao S. O. Bueno 14 Jul 02:18
  Selection mode - change of behavior between 2.6 and 2.8 Alexandre Prokoudine 14 Jul 02:59
  Selection mode - change of behavior between 2.6 and 2.8 Michael Natterer 14 Jul 06:46
Joao S. O. Bueno
2012-07-14 01:34:02 UTC (almost 2 years ago)

Selection mode - change of behavior between 2.6 and 2.8

Hi,
I got a complaint from a hard core artist today about a behavior that changed between gimp2 .6 and 2.8
I was not aware of. (And no, it does not absolutely have to do with the file export options)

It has to do with the selection mode: Once selected in the tool options, the "add to selection", "subtract from selection" and "intersect with selection" options where permanent until changed again - in GIMP 2.6.

In GIMP 2.8, the setting is reset with the selection. I.E. if the selction is cleared,
the setting goes back to the default of "Replace selection".

This artist is complaining this breaks his workflow in a hard way. (I mean: he relies on the setting remaining at "add to selection" after clearing the selection)

Was this behavior change on purpose, or is this a bug on 2.8? If on purpose, is there a rationale?

As a work-around for 2.10 we could create actions to set the mode with a shortcut (so one could press ctrl+shift+a to clear the selection followed by a configured shortcut
to turn the "add to selection" mode.)

Regards,

js ->

Chris Moller
2012-07-14 02:12:42 UTC (almost 2 years ago)

Selection mode - change of behavior between 2.6 and 2.8

Yeah, I noticed that too, and vote for a return to the old behaviour.

On 07/13/12 21:34, Joao S. O. Bueno wrote:

Hi,
I got a complaint from a hard core artist today about a behavior that changed between gimp2 .6 and 2.8
I was not aware of. (And no, it does not absolutely have to do with the file export options)

It has to do with the selection mode: Once selected in the tool options, the "add to selection", "subtract from selection" and "intersect with selection" options where permanent until changed again - in GIMP 2.6.

In GIMP 2.8, the setting is reset with the selection. I.E. if the selction is cleared,
the setting goes back to the default of "Replace selection".

This artist is complaining this breaks his workflow in a hard way. (I mean: he relies on the setting remaining at "add to selection" after clearing the selection)

Was this behavior change on purpose, or is this a bug on 2.8? If on purpose, is there a rationale?

As a work-around for 2.10 we could create actions to set the mode with a shortcut (so one could press ctrl+shift+a to clear the selection followed by a configured shortcut
to turn the "add to selection" mode.)

Regards,

js ->
_______________________________________________ gimp-developer-list mailing list
gimp-developer-list@gnome.org
https://mail.gnome.org/mailman/listinfo/gimp-developer-list

Joao S. O. Bueno
2012-07-14 02:18:42 UTC (almost 2 years ago)

Selection mode - change of behavior between 2.6 and 2.8

On 13 July 2012 22:34, Joao S. O. Bueno wrote:

Hi,
I got a complaint from a hard core artist today about a behavior that changed between gimp2 .6 and 2.8
I was not aware of. (And no, it does not absolutely have to do with the file export options)

It has to do with the selection mode: Once selected in the tool options, the "add to selection", "subtract from selection" and "intersect with selection" options where permanent until changed again - in GIMP 2.6.

In GIMP 2.8, the setting is reset with the selection. I.E. if the selction is cleared,
the setting goes back to the default of "Replace selection".

This artist is complaining this breaks his workflow in a hard way. (I mean: he relies on the setting remaining at "add to selection" after clearing the selection)

Was this behavior change on purpose, or is this a bug on 2.8? If on purpose, is there a rationale?

As a work-around for 2.10 we could create actions to set the mode with a shortcut (so one could press ctrl+shift+a to clear the selection followed by a configured shortcut
to turn the "add to selection" mode.)

While trying to get my friend a work around to this behavior I perceived the following:
If one calls (gimp-selection-clear ) from either the script-fu or Python-fu consoles,
the selection is cleared, but the selection edition mode is unchanged. (i.e., it remains
in "add to selection" )

However, if I create a one line script-fu with just this call, the selection edition mode
is reset to "replace" when the script is run.

From this is I infer the behavior has to do with gimp-context settings around the call
of a script rather than something done on purpose - and is therefore a bug, that should be fixed
in 2.8. line. Is this correct?

js ->

Regards,

js
->

Alexandre Prokoudine
2012-07-14 02:59:45 UTC (almost 2 years ago)

Selection mode - change of behavior between 2.6 and 2.8

On Sat, Jul 14, 2012 at 5:34 AM, Joao S. O. Bueno wrote:

Once selected in the tool options, the "add to selection", "subtract from selection" and "intersect with selection" options where permanent until changed again - in GIMP 2.6.

In GIMP 2.8, the setting is reset with the selection. I.E. if the selction is cleared,
the setting goes back to the default of "Replace selection".

Not here.

I click "add to selection button", drag to add selection, release, click inside area to confirm. The "add" mode is still on. I remove selection. The "add" mode is still on. What am I doing wrong? :)

Alexandre Prokoudine http://libregraphicsworld.org

Michael Natterer
2012-07-14 06:46:53 UTC (almost 2 years ago)

Selection mode - change of behavior between 2.6 and 2.8

This is a bug that's fixed in git master.

And *cough* Joao, from a hard core GIMP veteran I would have expected to figure this ;)

regards, --mitch

On Fri, 2012-07-13 at 22:34 -0300, Joao S. O. Bueno wrote:

Hi,
I got a complaint from a hard core artist today about a behavior that changed between gimp2 .6 and 2.8
I was not aware of. (And no, it does not absolutely have to do with the file export options)

It has to do with the selection mode: Once selected in the tool options, the "add to selection", "subtract from selection" and "intersect with selection" options where permanent until changed again - in GIMP 2.6.

In GIMP 2.8, the setting is reset with the selection. I.E. if the selction is cleared,
the setting goes back to the default of "Replace selection".

This artist is complaining this breaks his workflow in a hard way. (I mean: he relies on the setting remaining at "add to selection" after clearing the selection)

Was this behavior change on purpose, or is this a bug on 2.8? If on purpose, is there a rationale?

As a work-around for 2.10 we could create actions to set the mode with a shortcut (so one could press ctrl+shift+a to clear the selection followed by a configured shortcut
to turn the "add to selection" mode.)

Regards,

js ->
_______________________________________________ gimp-developer-list mailing list
gimp-developer-list@gnome.org
https://mail.gnome.org/mailman/listinfo/gimp-developer-list