RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Start hacking GEGL

This discussion is connected to the gegl-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

2 of 2 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Start hacking GEGL Leonardo Giordani 03 Mar 11:12
Start hacking GEGL Øyvind Kolås 03 Mar 11:52
Leonardo Giordani
2006-03-03 11:12:04 UTC (about 18 years ago)

Start hacking GEGL

Hi all,

my name is Leonardo Giordani. I am an italian Linux user and I work as C/Python developer in the field of scientific applications (signal processing). I have some knowledge about graphics programming mainly coming from the demoscene.

I'm very interested in GEGL and The GIMP, and I downloaded the GEGL source code in order to begin understanding it.

Afer reading some code and documentation I am a bit confused...

The main questions are:

1) GEGL, gggl, babl: it is not clear to me "what is what". Should I study gggl and babl to understand GEGL?

"This library is designed to do what GEGL will be designed to handle: image processing operations catering for GIMP and many other applications."

So GEGL is gggl-based?

"Gggl is a version of GEGL that tries to be as simple as possible, but not simpler."

...or gggl is a tiny GEGL version?

2) Directed acyclic graph: where can I find more documentation about it?

3) Who is working in what field? Who can I help?

Thank you very much for your help.

Øyvind Kolås
2006-03-03 11:52:23 UTC (about 18 years ago)

Start hacking GEGL

* Leonardo Giordani [060303 11:45]:

Hi all,

my name is Leonardo Giordani. I am an italian Linux user and I work as C/Python developer in the field of scientific applications (signal processing). I have some knowledge about graphics programming mainly coming from the demoscene.