RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

More basic questions

This discussion is connected to the gegl-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

2 of 2 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

More basic questions Todd Relyea 28 Jan 14:33
More basic questions Øyvind Kolås 30 Jan 10:44
Todd Relyea
2006-01-28 14:33:23 UTC (about 18 years ago)

More basic questions

I apologize for another round of basic GEGL questions...

To start with, I'm an electrical engineer with a programming background (multiple languages), and like many others I'm a fan of GIMP and would like to see it's development move forward (higher bit depth, CMYK, etc.). Working on GEGL and getting it in to usable shape seems to be where the next big leap for GIMP will come from, and like many others, I've been slogging through the GEGL code trying to make sense of how it's supposed to work.

For those who haven't read it, I thought that /docs/geglClasses.html was very informative on how gegl is intended to work and be used.

So in no particular order:

- Has there been a clear delineation made between the functionality of the future GIMP front end and GEGL?

The todo and bugzilla:

There are 7 bugs listed in bugzilla, but they're all pretty old. Do they actually reflect things that need to be done against the current code base?

Same question for the 'todo' on the gegl web site and CVS.

Lastly, what is the absolute minimum that needs to be done in order for gegl to be minimally usable? Reading through the docs and mailing list, it looks like some work needs to be done on the buffers, and then maybe create a very basic front end so people can actually play with the library, even if all of the functionality isn't implemented yet.

Todd

Øyvind Kolås