RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Characters became tofu after deleting fonts on Ubuntu

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

2 of 3 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

16644472a32.aee12307430624.... 05 Oct 18:24
  Characters became tofu after deleting fonts on Ubuntu Ken Moffat via gimp-user-list 05 Oct 18:24
   Characters became tofu after deleting fonts on Ubuntu dqwyy 06 Oct 03:19
Ken Moffat via gimp-user-list
2018-10-05 18:24:14 UTC (over 5 years ago)

On Fri, Oct 05, 2018 at 08:50:06PM +0800, dqwyy wrote:

Hi all.

I'm sorry that English is not my native language so I'm not good at it. Here is my problem.

I'm a new user on Ubuntu and I'm so excited that I can control my computer completely. Ubuntu, as a GNU/Linux OS is so free that I can customize it. I only use English, Chinese and Japanese so that I deleted all the fonts that I don't need. I think three fonts for English/western scripts are enough so I deleted all the fonts except Freesans, Freeserif and Freemono. I think one sans serif font, one serif font and one monospace font are enough. This looks really concise. I don't need to find a font on the long drop-down menu at Office software anymore.

Font problems are often hard to solve, I hope the words I use will be understandable.

Your logic for limiting the available fonts sounds sensible, but there are certain complications :

1. An application selects a font by using 'fontconfig'. The process can have sometimes unexpected results, because fontconfig may reject a font on the assumption that it lacks required characters for the specified language.