RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Tips and Tricks for a new user

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

5 of 5 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Tips and Tricks for a new user Ha2000 02 Jun 10:46
  Tips and Tricks for a new user rich404 02 Jun 11:11
   Tips and Tricks for a new user Ha2000 03 Jun 11:23
    Tips and Tricks for a new user ClaudiaJBrock 28 Jan 11:23
     Tips and Tricks for a new user shuel 28 Jan 11:26
2018-06-02 10:46:56 UTC (almost 6 years ago)
postings

HI!
I am completely new in photo modification and do have a couple of questions regarding gimp. I really would appreciate any help and/or tips.

I would like to print out a photo (which will be modified with gimp) in a large size, possibly 1000mmx400mm. Is this possible and how do I make sure I get a good quality print? Photo has been shot in RAW format, but could make the photo again as a "normal" photo.

Thank you for your help!

rich404
2018-06-02 11:11:47 UTC (almost 6 years ago)

HI!
I am completely new in photo modification and do have a couple of questions regarding gimp. I really would appreciate any help and/or tips.

I would like to print out a photo (which will be modified with gimp) in a large size, possibly 1000mmx400mm. Is this possible and how do I make sure I get a good quality print? Photo has been shot in RAW format, but could make the photo again as a "normal" photo.

Thank you for your help!

Small photo prints, you normally use an image with a 'print resolution' of 300 pixels-per-inch (ppi)

For large prints (ie your 1000x400 mm) at a normal viewing distance, a smaller ppi can be used (say 200 ppi)

Assuming you are using a printing service you need to ask them, their requirements.