RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

print business card

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

3 of 3 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

print business card Wrenchman 02 Oct 14:06
  print business card Rick Strong 06 Oct 16:19
  print business card Akkana Peck 06 Oct 16:38
2017-10-02 14:06:06 UTC (over 6 years ago)
postings

print business card

Hi there, I'm new to Gimp and to this forum, I've been doing Gimp for about a month now and although I didn't understand it in the beginning it's really quite user friendly, BTW. I use 2.8

anyway I ran into a problem making mine own homemade business-cards, and that is that the front and the back do not perfectly overlap when printed.

I'm trying to push everything a little bit by chance and then hoping for the best, using a lot of draft paper, but it's still off by about 2 mm on the print.

I see one solution would be to make a larger bleeding area, as of now I have zero bleeding area, but I would rather like to understand how to make a perfect overlap.

more specifically: Horizontally the overlap seems perfect; Vertically it's off by 2 mm

also I discovered that when you print the front and then turn the paper around and put it back in the printer everything turns opposite so that what was printed on the left side of the paper is now printed on the right side.

Thanks,

:)

Wrenchman

Rick Strong
2017-10-06 16:19:30 UTC (over 6 years ago)

print business card

You may find the free program SCRIBUS very helpful in doing your layout.

An 8.5" x 11" vertical sheet can be laid out for ten business cards, each 2" x 3.5". Left-Right margins are 0.75", top-Bottom margins are 0.5". You can then get two vertical columns of 5 cards each.