RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Locking layers won't work.

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

3 of 3 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Locking layers won't work. new2gimp2017 17 Feb 10:54
  Locking layers won't work. rich2005 17 Feb 11:07
   Locking layers won't work. new2gimp2017 17 Feb 11:13
2017-02-17 10:54:21 UTC (about 7 years ago)
postings

I'm new to gimp. No matter how many times I try...the lock pixels and lock alpha channels options will not work.

I would like layers completely locked so as to not accidentally move them. I am a veteran photoshop user and this is a very easy thing to do...but for the life of me I can't get gimp to lock down anything. I have seen tutorials and read articles and I'm doing exactly what it says but can still select and move layers even though I chose to lock them.

Any ideas on what's going on would be helpful. Thank you

rich2005
2017-02-17 11:07:22 UTC (about 7 years ago)

I'm new to gimp. No matter how many times I try...the lock pixels and lock alpha channels options will not work.

I would like layers completely locked so as to not accidentally move them. I am a veteran photoshop user and this is a very easy thing to do...but for the life of me I can't get gimp to lock down anything. I have seen tutorials and read articles and I'm doing exactly what it says but can still select and move layers even though I chose to lock them.

Any ideas on what's going on would be helpful. Thank you

Lock pixels and lock alpha channels do exactly what they state but not position.

What you need is the Gimp development version 2.9.5 (or wait for Gimp 2.10) which has a lock layer option.

see screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/x8JpOhD.jpg