RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

BMP Image

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

7 of 7 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

BMP Image Ricardo10 30 Sep 16:05
  BMP Image pattyJ 30 Sep 21:27
   BMP Image Steve Kinney 30 Sep 22:22
    BMP Image Steve Kinney 30 Sep 22:38
     BMP Image Ricardo10 30 Sep 22:55
      BMP Image Liam R. E. Quin 01 Oct 03:22
   BMP Image Ricardo10 30 Sep 22:47
2016-09-30 16:05:44 UTC (over 7 years ago)
postings

BMP Image

Hello everyone.....

100% Gimp beginner here as u gonna see in my question... :)

How to save an image into BMP? ant then make it indexed?

Thanks to whom may Reply.....

2016-09-30 21:27:02 UTC (over 7 years ago)
postings

BMP Image

Hello,

I'm a newbie too, but have you tried Exporting it? From that dialog box you can choose Windows Bitmap (bmp). I'm afraid I don't know what indexes are in this context.

Cheers, p@ttyJ

Hello everyone.....

Steve Kinney
2016-09-30 22:22:55 UTC (over 7 years ago)

BMP Image

Do control+e to open the Export menu, type in a file name ending in .bmp, and click the magic button...

I was not aware that .bmp images can be indexed; the most common indexed format is .gif. Depending on the number of colors in the .bmp image, .gif may give acceptable results and a much smaller file size on disc.

The logical reason to convert a .bmp file to an indexed format would be to get a that smaller file size for the same size image - .bmp uses /no/ compression to reduce file size, and the result is /big/ image files, while .gif uses an efficient file compression method (that's what indexing is, more or less).

Check here for lots more details - also other pages in the same part of the website: