RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

(no subject)

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

3 of 3 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

(no subject) John Smith 30 Sep 08:54
  (no subject) Simon Budig 30 Sep 09:10
   (no subject) Jan Kandziora 30 Sep 12:09
John Smith
2016-09-30 08:54:23 UTC (over 7 years ago)

(no subject)

Hello everybody,

I am considering moving from Photoshop to The Gimp entirely. I did bend Photoshop to my needs and I master perfectly everything I need to master with this software. I am NOT a beginner in the world of image editing.

Therefore, before starting the long and painful process of learning a new software, I need to be sure it is worth it.

Question 1) Can I add a layer mask, make it active, add some noise, blur the thing, get a selection from a previously saved alpha channel and all that sort of things through scripts. Don't tell me how, I just want to know if I can do it.

Question 2) Can I access the application state through scripts? I mean is it possible to know if a layer mask is already added to the active layer or if the layer palette is visible?

Question 3) As far as I understand it, it is not possible to have toggles at the moment. Ctrl z twice will cancel 2 actions instead of undoing and redoing the last action. Am I right?If so how do I build toggles in the Gimp. I have a solution but it implies having a keyboard listener wrapping the Gimp and that's not the econimcal way of doing it.

Cordialement,

John

http://johnsmithimages.net

Simon Budig
2016-09-30 09:10:53 UTC (over 7 years ago)

(no subject)

John Smith (j.smith.images@gmail.com) wrote: