RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Whitening Background

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

3 of 3 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Whitening Background Phoophan 06 Mar 05:54
  Whitening Background Jernej Simončič 06 Mar 10:41
  Whitening Background Richard 06 Mar 20:55
2016-03-06 05:54:17 UTC (about 8 years ago)
postings

Whitening Background

I am a beginner to Gimp and I hope this is a very easy question to answer.

I took a photo with my phone of a simple Blank & White label. I opened it in Gimp and saved it as a .PNG file. What I need to do is brighten or whiten the label background. When the picture is printed the White comes out greyish. I need to whiten this greyish background so when I print the label it comes out White.

I've tried everything I've learned in Gimp the past year but I simply cannot figure this out. Any/All help would be greatfully appreciated.

Thank you!

Jernej Simončič
2016-03-06 10:41:33 UTC (about 8 years ago)

Whitening Background

On Sun, 06 Mar 2016 06:54:17 +0100, Phoophan wrote:

I took a photo with my phone of a simple Blank & White label. I opened it in Gimp and saved it as a .PNG file. What I need to do is brighten or whiten the label background. When the picture is printed the White comes out greyish. I need to whiten this greyish background so when I print the label it comes out White.

Use the Curves dialog (from the Colours menu).

< Jernej Simončič ><><><><>< http://eternallybored.org/ >
Richard
2016-03-06 20:55:18 UTC (about 8 years ago)

Whitening Background

Date: Sun, 6 Mar 2016 06:54:17 +0100 From: forums@gimpusers.com
To: gimp-user-list@gnome.org
CC: notifications@gimpusers.com
Subject: [Gimp-user] Whitening Background