RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

How to shrink photo, retain quality?? Business card design

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

2016-02-12 18:59:59 UTC (about 8 years ago)
postings

Hi guys!

I'm an amateur photo-editor, and have a decent understanding of Gimp basics.

I am designing a business card for myself to be uploaded to gotprint.com

I am using a 2.5inx3.5in. vertical layout. In the past I have used the basic online editor provided by gotprint to design a logo, this time I wanted to do it on Gimp to leave myself more options for editing.

I need to include a photo of myself on the card. I have a hq photo taken by a Canon DSLR, and it looks great. When I create a new project on Gimp to the specific size of 2.5"x3.5" I have to shrink the image down, as it is around 2800x4200 pixels. Whenever I do this I lose A LOT of quality.

On the gotprint editor I don't lose any quality, it uploads and looks as sharp as ever. I've researched ways to sharpen the image before resizing, using online resizing tools and even increasing the size of the image on Gimp from 2.5"x3.5" to something much bigger as to accommodate the photo, however the file size becomes too large to handle.

How can I shrink a large photo of myself at 2800x4200 pixels to fit vertically on a business card that is 2.5"x3.5" (around 200x150 pixels) without losing quality? I know whenever an image is resized quality will be lost, so how to other companies fit images of people on business cards that look good?

I greatly appreciate any and all help- I'm hoping to find a solution to this seemingly small problem soon.

Thank you!!

Richard
2016-02-13 04:15:08 UTC (about 8 years ago)

Date: Fri, 12 Feb 2016 19:59:59 +0100 From: forums@gimpusers.com
To: gimp-user-list@gnome.org