RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Tif Files

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

6 of 6 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Tif Files charneys 18 Apr 15:31
  Tif Files Michael Schumacher 18 Apr 19:59
  Tif Files Liam R. E. Quin 18 Apr 21:18
   Tif Files Partha Bagchi 18 Apr 22:26
   Tif Files Michael Schumacher 18 Apr 22:42
    Tif Files Steve Kinney 19 Apr 01:30
2015-04-18 15:31:27 UTC (about 9 years ago)
postings

Tif Files

I am new to GIMP and using version 2.8.14 on a Mac with Yosemite. If I want to convert an image to a tif file I use Save or Save as but do not get the tif option. If I go to Export, tif is an option. However when I use the tif option it saves the file as a png and NOT as a tif. Help! Could you respond directly to me at charneys@hotmail.com Thank you.

Michael Schumacher
2015-04-18 19:59:49 UTC (about 9 years ago)

Tif Files

On 04/18/2015 05:31 PM, charneys wrote:

I am new to GIMP and using version 2.8.14 on a Mac with Yosemite. If I want to convert an image to a tif file I use Save or Save as but do not get the tif option. If I go to Export, tif is an option. However when I use the tif option it saves the file as a png and NOT as a tif. Help!

TIFF and all the other non-GIMP file formats are done via Export.

The usual way to do this is to invoke the Export Image dialog and type the file name and the file name extension of the format you want to use, e.g. image.tif

For the default cases, you will not have to use use any format selector drop-down at all - those come into play if you need to force a file type but have to use a file name extension that would imply a different one.

Regards,
Michael
GPG: 96A8 B38A 728A 577D 724D 60E5 F855 53EC B36D 4CDD
Liam R. E. Quin