RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Color shift when opening TIFF?

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

4 of 4 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Color shift when opening TIFF? Keith Purtell 23 Oct 19:31
  Color shift when opening TIFF? Gary Aitken 24 Oct 04:27
   Color shift when opening TIFF? Keith Purtell 24 Oct 14:15
    Color shift when opening TIFF? Keith Purtell 24 Oct 16:48
Keith Purtell
2014-10-23 19:31:38 UTC (over 9 years ago)

I've been using GIMP for several years to (among other things) open TIFF files, edit, export into Acrobat Pro to create a PDF. Today I took a client PDF and saved it as high-res TIFF, fixed a problem, exported the revised TIFF and converted to PDF. I do this often.

It wasn't until I got to looking at the new PDF that I noticed a big color shift in one section. There's a pale green box with darker forest-green text inside. Both shades of green looked like the saturation had been pumped way up. I backtracked, and finally realized this color shift was happening the instant GIMP opened the TIFF.

Just to be clear, this is not a buggy TIFF from outside. I made it myself by take a normal PDF and using the Save-as-Image function. This didn't happen with the other three images from the same project. Experimenting with Mode made no difference.

Ideas?

Keith Purtell

Gary Aitken
2014-10-24 04:27:09 UTC (over 9 years ago)

On 10/23/14 13:31, Keith Purtell wrote:

I've been using GIMP for several years to (among other things) open TIFF files, edit, export into Acrobat Pro to create a PDF. Today I took a client PDF and saved it as high-res TIFF, fixed a problem, exported the revised TIFF and converted to PDF. I do this often.