RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Subtracting an image from another image.

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

3 of 3 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Subtracting an image from another image. GreenFeather 08 Oct 19:26
  Subtracting an image from another image. Steve Kinney 08 Oct 22:03
  Subtracting an image from another image. Ofnuts 11 Oct 12:46
GreenFeather
2014-10-08 19:26:54 UTC (over 9 years ago)

Hi, I'm fairly new to GIMP. I need help.

Let's say, I have a base image. Then another image which is comprised of the base image and a transparent layer of blue, but is merged into one layer. How can I subtract the base image from the other image, resulting in a layer of blue?

Here, I'll show what is needed in my case.

I have my base image, here

and here is the other image, which is the base image plus a rainbow layer

As I said before, the second image is one layer, and I can't click undo because that image isn't originally mine.

How would I subtract the base image from the second image that leaves me with a rainbow gradient layer, that looks something like this (image not to
scale) (note, this is just an example and I can't use this one because it does not match the exact shades of the seconds image, which is what I need)

Help please.

-- View this message in context: http://gimp.1065349.n5.nabble.com/Subtracting-an-image-from-another-image-tp43846.html Sent from the Users mailing list archive at Nabble.com.

Steve Kinney
2014-10-08 22:03:11 UTC (over 9 years ago)

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE----- Hash: SHA1

On 10/08/2014 03:26 PM, GreenFeather wrote: