RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Moving Selections

This discussion is connected to the gimp-user-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

3 of 3 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Moving Selections Oliver Lennox 28 Oct 18:44
  Moving Selections Daniel Hornung 28 Oct 19:01
   Moving Selections Oliver Lennox 31 Oct 17:03
Oliver Lennox
2008-10-28 18:44:14 UTC (over 15 years ago)

Moving Selections

Hello All,

I've been using the GIMP off and on since 2.2 and find it to be a very good piece of software. I'm a web programmer and don't tend to do much graphic design work, but occasionally I need a button / background in a hurry and I enjoy having a play around to see what I can come up with.
A task that I find myself frequently performing is cropping images. In the old GIMP I used to drag out a selection box, and then use one of the control keys (CTRL/ SHIFT/ ALT, can't remember which sadly) to move it around until it looked right. So for example, if I wanted the left border to expand out a bit further I would hold the key, move my selection left a bit, release the key, and the continue to line up the right border. It is such a simple, fluid process that it wasn't something I ever thought consciously about.
The problem I have is that in the newer GIMPs I cannot seem to find the key which does this. I've read online that it should be the ALT key but when I searched on Google I just got back a lot posts that seemed to end in an argument about the right / wrong way to use the software. This doesn't concern me really, I'd just like to know how to get this functionality back as it was something that I found very useful.
Would it be possible for someone to show me where I'm going wrong?
Thanks very much,

Olly Lennox
IT Developer

Clarke Willmott*