RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Can we redearch end user needs and come up with a long term developement solution.

This discussion is connected to the gimp-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

2 of 2 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Can we redearch end user needs and come up with a long term developement solution. Tomasz Witko 18 Apr 20:10
  Can we redearch end user needs and come up with a long term developement solution. Alan Horkan 18 Apr 21:55
Tomasz Witko
2006-04-18 20:10:17 UTC (almost 18 years ago)

Can we redearch end user needs and come up with a long term developement solution.

Hi I am new to the development list and have some quetions pertaining to the direction of developement of Gimp, I realy like Gimp and use it frequesntly and have some vaige suggestions for what the developent path of Gimp may follow to give it an advantage and hopefully bring in new Gimp users and better the usablity of Linux in general.

First off Most people compare Gimp to photoshop wich is a good direction to follow as they set the standard by addressing user needs though I feel Gimp should not be a Photoshop knock off and sort of develop in its own direction pertaining to the end users needs which I feel it does and seperated the knock off idea as GImp is following the needs of the user.

Anyways there are a few directions where GImp may gain an advantage over other editing software by combinning user needs and there for features that would give it an advantage over other Graphical programs but this has to be waighed against program bloat. Bloat may be eliviated by seperating Gimp into sections such as Photo editing and say for argument a Gimp paint shop and be able to make the open graphics window inteact with the different sections.