RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

more gimp foundation stuff

This discussion is connected to the gimp-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

2 of 2 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

more gimp foundation stuff Daniel Rogers 08 Mar 15:58
  more gimp foundation stuff Kelly Martin 09 Mar 03:40
Daniel Rogers
2004-03-08 15:58:59 UTC (about 20 years ago)

Here is few notes to address a few more concerns I have encountered, I'll pose them retorically.

1. I heard that some people have been asked to be on the board, why weren't the developers consulted? I'm a developer, why wasn't I asked? Who are these board members?

In California every corporation that has not applied and achieved tax-exempt status from the IRS has to pay an 800 dollar "franchise tax." In order to get tax-exempt status, you must meet certain requirements, write your bylaws, have your first board meeting, and attach the bylaws and the minutes of your first meeting to the tax-exempt form and set it to the IRS (and the state franchise tax board).

At some point, I needed to make sure that there would be sufficient interest in being board members to be able to have the first board meeting. Otherwise, seeing how I am the only board member at the moment (every corporation needs one initial board member) I would have to pay the 800 dollar franchise tax fee. I didn't want to do that. I also didn't know if non-US-residents can be on the board, so yosh and I came up with a list of all US contributors and interested people and sent them mail asking about being TGF board members. Yosh, Mat, Nathan, were the ones who expressed interest at the time. This meant I had enough poeple interested that I felt I could contine without undue risk to myself.