RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

Whether to file bug reports after making several small code modifications?

This discussion is connected to the gimp-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

1 of 1 message available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

Whether to file bug reports after making several small code modifications? Elle Stone 10 Mar 16:03
Elle Stone
2018-03-10 16:03:29 UTC (about 6 years ago)

Whether to file bug reports after making several small code modifications?

Hi All,

I've been using default babl/GEGL/GIMP for painting for the last several months, instead of using my patched version of GIMP. I switched to using default GIMP for three reasons:

* For painting (and probably everything else), default GIMP is faster than my patched version of GIMP.

* I really like the new ability to switch between linear and perceptual precision (for example using the new blending/compositing mode options for layers and using Curves/Levels), without having to make an ICC profile conversion.

* I want to help debug GIMP code, which is much easier when using default GIMP because I don't have to first replicate in default GIMP a bug or crash that happened in my patched version of GIMP.

However, recently I've made some small changes to my default GIMP code that might mean that I shouldn't be filing *any* bug reports:

* I reverted the changes that were recently made to the color picking dialogs (https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=783680). I use an LCH-based color palette when painting, and I always want to see LCH and RGB at the same time. So I reverted these changes.

* I find it a bit distracting to have Levels and Curves always load with the last-used settings