RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

gimp-developer-list Digest, Vol 26, Issue 10

This discussion is connected to the gimp-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

1 of 2 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

mailman.5.1384257602.31278.... 12 Nov 23:32
  gimp-developer-list Digest, Vol 26, Issue 10 Thomas W 12 Nov 23:31
Thomas W
2013-11-12 23:31:39 UTC (over 10 years ago)

gimp-developer-list Digest, Vol 26, Issue 10

Hi DeVont, thanks for your suggestions & interest in contribution.

I'm not really a GIMP developer and am definitely not familiar with the codebase, but I'm deeply familiar with software engineering/ re-engineering & I'll just give you a few comments on first principles.

1. gimp/libgimpmath/gimpmathtypes.h (file in question:gimp/libgimpmath/gimpmatrix.h(c))

This file declares math structures that gimp uses like vectors and matrices. The GimpMatrix structure come in 2X2, 3X3 and even 4X4 versions. Each matrix is a 2Dimensional gdouble array with the appropriate amount of elements to span the NXN matrix.I believe this data structure is used for computation during image editing. There are functions handling comparisons, identities, transformations, rotations, translations and various other matrix operations.

Possible changes: I believe the declaration of 3 special kinds of gimp matrices can be generalized to a struct (or class) that holds and defines an NXN matrix.

Generalizing these structures, would almost certainly make them slower. While in peripheral areas that might be fine, I do not think GIMP users wish to lose performance on matrix-based image transformations.

Neither am I aware that there could ever be a need for matrices larger than 4x4.

So, I probably recommend against pursuing #1.