RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

OpenCL support in GEGL is almost there

This discussion is connected to the gegl-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

3 of 3 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

OpenCL support in GEGL is almost there Victor Oliveira 10 Apr 18:04
  OpenCL support in GEGL is almost there johannes hanika 10 Apr 21:12
   OpenCL support in GEGL is almost there Øyvind Kolås 11 Apr 11:29
Victor Oliveira
2012-04-10 18:04:40 UTC (almost 12 years ago)

Hello everyone,

I'm a GEGL developer and I've been working since last year implementing OpenCL support in GEGL. We have for now:

- An API to write OpenCL point and area operations - A way to share image data between operations in the GPU (so we don't have to bring the image back and forth the CPU for each operator) - +20 GEGL operations have OpenCL support already - It's fast
- It's been included in GIMP 2.8RC1

Darktable has its own OpenCL support code (which is pretty good, by the way). I'd like to start talks to avoid work repetition in both programs and to make an argument pro-GEGL use in Darktable :)

bye! Victor Oliveira

johannes hanika
2012-04-10 21:12:47 UTC (almost 12 years ago)

hey!

good news, and congrats on putting it into gimp.

actually darktable's pixel pipeline was based on gegl as the project started (you'll still notice some #ifdef HAVE_GEGL if you look around the code closely). that was 2-3 years ago and at that time it turned out a simple DIY pipeline was a lot faster, to a point where it just didn't seem practicable to use gegl. that said i love the clean gegl api and would totally love to see dt/gimp use the same rendering api and have some compatible interchange format.

i guess the biggest issues back then were: