RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

GEGL Developers

This discussion is connected to the gegl-developer-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

6 of 6 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

GEGL Developers Eric Grivel 08 Jan 17:51
GEGL Developers Sven Neumann 08 Jan 18:16
GEGL Developers Eric Grivel 10 Jan 01:00
GEGL Developers Florent Monnier 10 Jan 10:49
GEGL Developers Michael Schumacher 10 Jan 11:36
GEGL Developers Eric Grivel 18 Jan 03:35
Eric Grivel
2006-01-08 17:51:11 UTC (over 18 years ago)

GEGL Developers

Hi,

I'm a software developer by profession, and amateur photographer. I love using GIMP and was looking for a way to contribute to the development of a 16-bit version of that tool. The GIMP Bugzilla has an entry (#74224) which seems to track this enhancement, and it refers to "gegl", so I figure that would be the place to start.

I went to gegl.org, downloaded the code (got it to compile), looked at the FAQ and the archive for this month of the mailing list... and found that I have no clue about what is going on and whether or how I would be able to contribute.

So my questions: - Is gegl the right place to contribute to a 16-bit version of Gimp? - Is this mailing list the right place to talk about gegl? - Is development going on that I could participate in? - Is there a place to find an overview, or someone who can give me an overview, of what gegl is about? I'm an experienced C programmer, but know next to nothing about graphics theory.

If this is the right place, and if I can make a serious contribution, I'm willing to try and spend some time on learning whatever I need to learn. However, I'm going to need some help to get started; just looking at the source code is not going to get me anywhere here.

Best, Eric

Sven Neumann