RSS/Atom feed Twitter
Site is read-only, email is disabled

image resolution in pdf/html files

This discussion is connected to the gimp-docs-list.gnome.org mailing list which is provided by the GIMP developers and not related to gimpusers.com.

This is a read-only list on gimpusers.com so this discussion thread is read-only, too.

6 of 6 messages available
Toggle history

Please log in to manage your subscriptions.

image resolution in pdf/html files Marco Ciampa 09 Jan 10:01
  image resolution in pdf/html files Axel Wernicke 09 Jan 11:38
   image resolution in pdf/html files Marco Ciampa 10 Jan 01:34
    image resolution in pdf/html files Roman Joost 10 Jan 04:30
     image resolution in pdf/html files Michael Schumacher 10 Jan 11:47
      image resolution in pdf/html files Roman Joost 11 Jan 05:18
Marco Ciampa
2006-01-09 10:01:45 UTC (about 18 years ago)

First of all: I'm not an expert...be gentle!

I've just noted that the 4 images present in images/using/ui-* are horribly scaled. A quick view at the english-pdf file showed me the reason since I tryed to create the same snapshots for the italian version and endedup with a pdf file with the images going outside the a4 margins. So the question is:

- why not leaving the 1by1 pixel in the image? is it not possible to use a tag (for example) to tell the latex that that image must be scaled (for example by 1/2 or 1/3) for the printable version? In this manner the html pages _and_ the pdf pages would be better looking!

- from the starting point that there are very important reasons not easily circunventeable to do in such manner, what are the rule of thumb for creating an image good for both the html _and_ the pdf versions?
Limits in pixel?
Valid either for A4 than Letter? Or for now it is best to simply do a try-compile-view cycle? The "Hints for making good screenshots" in the "TipsForContributing" do not mention this problem and I think that, whatever you experts decide, it is worth to ad a note..